Now Reading
Badminton World Federation: The International Badminton Organisation

Badminton World Federation: The International Badminton Organisation

Kali Sharma

If you are someone who is passionate about badminton, you need to know about the Badminton World Federation (BWF). You have arrived at the right place for the same.

Badminton remains one of the most loved sports in the world. Especially in India, Badminton is one of the most played sports (perhaps, after cricket) in every other street and house. Let’s know more about the topmost federation who supports the professionals in Badminton, Badminton World Federation.

1. The International Badminton Federation (IBF) became the governing body for badminton in 1934, recognised by the IOC (International Olympic Committee).

2. Initially, it had only 9 countries as its member, including England, France, Denmark, Scotland, Wales, New Zealand, Netherlands, Canada and Ireland. Today 196 countries are part of it.

3. In 1981 IBF was merged with the World Badminton Federation.

4. It was not until the meeting of September 2006–Extraordinary General Meeting–that was held in Madrid that the name of the association was changed into BWF or Badminton World Federation.

5. Initially, the organisation’s headquarters was in Cheltenham, UK. In 2005, it was shifted to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

6. The organisation consists of 5 federations, namely, Badminton Europe, Badminton Asia, Badminton Pan Am, Badminton Confederation of Africa and Badminton Oceania. 

7. George Alan Thomas, a legendary badminton player of the 1900s, was the first president of IBF (today, BWF).

8. BWF has been organising 4 major competitive events since 1992. These are, Men’s Singles and Women’s Singles (where one player plays against the other) and Men’s Doubles and Women’s Doubles (where teams of 2-2 play against each other) have been played. Since 1996, Mixed Doubles have also been conducted by BWF.

9. Some of the major awards given by BWF to the people associated with Badminton are Lifetime Achievement, Hall of Fame, Distinguished Service, Best Male Player of the Year, Best Female Player of the Year, Women in Badminton, Eddy Choong Most Promising Player of the Year, Certificate of Commendation, Herbert Scheele Trophy and Certificate of Commendation.

See Also

10. Before it changed its name to Badminton World Federation, the organisation used the simple logo of IBF, which has been converted to BWF in 2012. There’s a filled-shuttlecock in red, with BWF inside.

11. PV Sindhu, Srikanth Kidambi and Saina Nehwal are recognised in the Top-10 ranking of the BWF.

From a community of 9 members to 196 members, Badminton World Federation has changed the world of many Badminton and Sports lovers around the world. We hope that it continues to give the world some more legends in the future!

Blog Edited By Ritika Gupta

For more “Sports” related blogs click here

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top