Now Reading
Indian Para Athletes Who Made India Proud

Indian Para Athletes Who Made India Proud


Indian Para Athletes have proven that nothing can hold them back to make India proud!

  1.  Mariyappan Thangavelu: High jumper by profession, this Indian Para Athletes won gold in Rio de Janeiro, in the men’s high jump T-42 category in 2016. In 2017, he also won the Padma Shri Award.

2. Devendra Jhajharia: Javeline thrower by profession won two gold medals at Paralympics. He was also the first Indian to do this twice, in 2004 and 2016. He has also won Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, Padma Shri and Arjuna Award (in 2017, 2012 and 2004, respectively).

3. Naresh Kumar Sharma: Indian shooter and Arjuna Award winner (1997) with 90% disability had featured himself in all Paralympics since 1996. He only missed out only in Athens, 2004 with his best finish at 5th place in Beijing Paralympics 2008.

4. Varun Singh Bhati: High jumper by profession, he won bronze at 2016 Summer Paralympic Games where he jumped 1.86 meters. He also got affected by Poliomyelitis at a young age.

5.Deepa Malik: First Indian Women Athlete to win silver at the 2016 Summer Paralympics. He also won gold in Javelin Event at the Para Athletic Grand Prix, held in Dubai, 2018. Currently, he is listed as the number one in the F-53 category of the world. He also received the Arjuna Award in 2012, at the age of 42.

6. Suyash Jadhav: Indian Para Swimmer in the S7-category. At the 2015 IWAS World Games, he won a silver and a bronze medal in Sochi, Russia. He was the only Indian Para Swimmer to qualify for the 2016 Rio Paralympics.

7. Ankur Dhama: First blind athlete to have won 2-bronzes and a silver medal at the Asian Para Games in 2014. He also participated in middle-distance running at the Paralympics with his partner Vipin Kumar.

8. Karamjyoti Dalal: Discuss throw athlete by profession who won bronze, gold, and bronze at World Para Athletics Championships in London, IPC Athletics Grand pix in 2017 Dubai, and World Para Athletics Championships in 2017 London respectively

9. Rinku Hooda: 17-year-old para javelin thrower in F-46 category, who also competed in Summer Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, where he finished 5th with his personal best of 54.39m.

10. Rajinder Singh: Singh is a paralympic powerlifter. He won bronze at Summer Paralympics in 56kg category in 2014. He was also Arjuna Award recipient, finished fifth at the 2008 Summer Paralympics in Beijing.

See Also


Other than these top Indian Para Athletes, many other Indian Para Players continue to win more & more for their nation.

Blog Edited By admin

For more Fitness related blogs click here.

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top