Now Reading


Sarthak Mittal
  1. Firstly the name upanishad is composed of the terms  upa-(near),ni-shad-(to sit) meaning something like  “sitting down near”.

  • The knowledge was taught to students who sat near the master at a lower level or at his feet while the master sat on a higher seat. His teachings were called Upnishads.

  • The upanishads are a collection of text of religious and
    philosophical nature.

  • The total number of Upanishads are 1180 but 200 are left and 13 are main.                 

  • The names of 13 upanishads are Brihadaranyaka,Chandogya,Taittiriya,Aitariya,Kaushitaki,Kena,Katha,Isa,Svetasvatara,Mundaka,Prasana,Mandukya and maitri. The upanishads are probably  written in India in 800-400 B.C.

  • The upanishads are the end part of the four vedas  Rigveda ,Yajurved, Samaved and Atharvaveda.  

  • The vedas on which sanatana dharma is based has three sections karma kanda(ritualistic section),upasana kanda(worship section) and jnana kand(knowledge section).the jnana kanda is called an upanishads.

    See Also

  • The upanishads are also known as Vedanta, which means the end of the vedas.

  • The knowledge of the upanishads were confined to a few teachers who were either Kshatriya or Brahmanas.        

  • The upanishads teach us the knowledge of Moksha,they contain the knowledge of god leading to freedom.  

  • The upanishads are a part of the Mahabharata.        

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top